Missouri uses a point system to ensure unsafe drivers aren’t on the roads. Points for traffic tickets are laid out by statute, but here is a simple guide:
Points for Typical Traffic Violations
- Speeding – City/County ticket = 2 points
- Speeding – State (Highway Patrol) ticket = 3 points
- Driving without proof of financial responsibility = 4 points
- Moving violation involving an accident = add 2 points (if ordered by the judge)
- Driving While Suspended = 12 points
Racking Up Too Many Points: If you accumulate too many points, you will loose your license from 30 days to 1 year:
30, 60 or 90 Day Suspension: If you accumulate 8 points in 18 months, you will be suspended for 30 days the first time you do so, the second time is a 60 day suspension and third or subsequent time is a 90 day suspension.
1 year Suspensions: if you accumulate 12 points in 12 months, 18 points in 24 months, or 24 points in 36 months, you will be suspended for one year.
How Many Points Do I Have?
The Missouri Department of Revenue can let you know how many “active” points you have. You can find out by calling: (573) 526-2407.
Points Do Go Away!
Points fall off after a certain amount of time or are reduced upon reinstatement. For example if you are suspended for accumulation of points, when you reinstate your license, your points return to 4 total.
For the first year you drive without any new points, your total points are reduced by one-third. After two years of no new points, the total is reduced by half and after three years, qualifying points are reduced to zero.
Remember hiring a lawyer helps you avoid points in the first place. If you have accumulated too many points, a lawyer can even help get old convictions off your record by filing a motion with the court within a certain amount of time.